2019 Productions

Rossini's The Barber of Seville
Wolf Trap Opera
Lidiya Yankovskaya, conductor
Figaro, Figaro, Figaro! A comic masterpiece
  • Friday, Aug 09 | 8:15 PM
View Details
Strauss
Ariadne auf Naxos
The best laid plans often go awry… Strauss’ soaring opera is divinely comical and deeply enchanting.
  • Friday, Jul 19 | 7:30 PM
  • Sunday, Jul 21 | 3 PM
  • Wednesday, Jul 24 | 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, Jul 27 | 7:30 PM
View Details
The World Turned Upside Down:
Gluck

Merlin's Island
Ullmann
The Emperor of Atlantis
Merlin's Island: Gluck’s clever opera is a light-hearted parody that takes nothing seriously.

The Emperor of Atlantis: Death decides to teach mankind a lesson in this powerfully dramatic work.
  • Saturday, Jun 22 | 7:30 PM
  • Wednesday, Jun 26 | 7:30 PM
  • Friday, Jun 28 | 7:30 PM
  • Sunday, Jun 30 | 3 PM
View Details
L’heure espagnole
Maurice Ravel
Ward Stare, conductor

Wolf Trap Opera Artists
Semi-staged performance of Ravel’s one-act comedy
  • Saturday, Jun 22 | 8 PM
View Details

Concerts & More

Steven Blier: 25th Anniversary
Also featuring Joseph Li & Wolf Trap Opera Soloists
Steven Blier of NYFOS returns for his 25th Anniversary recital.
  • Saturday, Jun 01 | 3 PM
  • Sunday, Jun 02 | 3 PM
View Details
Aria Jukebox
An afternoon of opera highlights curated by the audience and sung by Wolf Trap Opera soloists. Come to the preshow reception to vote for the arias of your choice!
  • Sunday, Jul 28 | 3 PM
View Details
Studio Spotlight
Studio Artists shine in their own program of opera scenes and highlights
  • Thursday, Aug 01 | 7:30 PM
  • Friday, Aug 02 | 7:30 PM
View Details
Class
Master Class with Lawrence Brownlee
2019 Filene Artist in Residence
Each season’s Filene Artist in Residence holds a public master class, offering Wolf Trap Opera’s singers guidance on style, performance enhancement, language, stagecraft, and more. Attendance at this class is open to the public—aspiring singers and opera aficionados welcome.
  • Tuesday, Jul 23 | 7:30 PM
View Details
Wolf Trap Opera presents
The State Singers
Founded by Wolf Trap Opera Alumni, this new vocal ensemble brings an operatic sensibility to choral music. Composed of members of the Metropolitan Opera and military choruses, The State Singers make their DC debut at The Barns!
  • Friday, Jul 26 | 7:30 PM
View Details

UNTRAPPED

L’heure espagnole
Maurice Ravel
Ward Stare, conductor

Wolf Trap Opera Artists
Semi-staged performance of Ravel’s one-act comedy
  • Saturday, Jun 22 | 8 PM
View Details
Vocal Colors
Wolf Trap Opera at The Phillips Collection
Visual art and music are paired in two intimate evenings of song at the beautiful Music Room of Washington D.C.’s The Phillips Collection.
  • Thursday, Jun 13 | 6:30 PM
  • Thursday, Jul 11 | 6:30 PM
View Details